# **UC Berkeley**

**Places** 

Title 2006 EDRA / Places Awards

Permalink https://escholarship.org/uc/item/1qz048d1

**Journal** Places, 18(3)

**ISSN** 0731-0455

Publication Date 2006-10-15

Peer reviewed

# 2006 EDRA/Places Awards

Six exemplary projects were named winners of EDRA/ *Places* Awards in 2006. The awards celebrate distinguished work in three areas: Place Design (completed projects that demonstrate excellence as human environments); Place Planning (projects that make proposals for the future design, use or management of a place); and Place Research (projects that investigate the relationship between design and human behavior, culture or experience).

The awards were presented at the Environmental Design Research Association's 37th annual meeting, in Atlanta, GA. Judging of submissions took place this year at the Interdisciplinary Design institute, Washington State University-Spokane. *Places* would like to thank WSU for hosting the event—and especially Prof. Keith Diaz-Moore, who served as coordinator.

Jurors for this ninth annual EDRA/Places awards cycle were:

**Sherry Ahrentzen**, Associate Director for Research, Stardust Center for Affordable Homes and the Family, Arizona State University, Tempe

**Robert Hull**, FAIA, Principal, Miller/Hull Partnership, Seattle, WA

**Ilze Jones**, AIA/FASLA, President, Jones & Jones Architects and Landscape Architects, Ltd., Seattle, WA

**Douglas Kelbaugh**, FAIA, Dean of the Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Marcia McNally, Partner, Community Development by Design, Berkeley, CA; Associate Adjunct Professor, Department of Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning, University of California, Berkeley

The postmark deadline for submissions for the next (2007) cycle of EDRA/*Places* Awards will be January 30, 2007. See announcement on page 47. For more information, visit www.edra.org or www.places-journal.org



# Award for Place Design

Buckeye Village Community Center—Columbus, Ohio Kay Bea Jones, The Ohio State University

**Research:** Dr. Beverly Toomey. Student Research Assistants: Tony Freitag and Winna Japardi. Site and Building Design: George Acock, AIA, Andrew Rosenthal, and Dave Lee. Interior Design: Suzanne Toney. University Architect: Ruth Miller. Images: Brad Feinknopf.



## Award for Place Planning The Paleo Project—Fossil, Oregon

Rowell Brokaw Architects, PC: Jenny Young, RA; John Rowell, AIA; Gregory Brokaw, AIA; Peter King; Chad Kirkpatrick; Joanne Hogarth.

With: Lovinger2 Landscape Architects (Justine Lovinger, Ron Lovinger); John S. Reynolds, Energy Consultant; Solarc Architecture and Engineering; AE Group, Structural Engineer; EEC Engineering, Electrical Engineering; Construction Focus, Cost Estimating.





#### Award for Place Planning Sense of Place—Calgary, Alberta

Sense of Place Committee: Beverly A. Sandalack, Ann Davis, Leonard Novak, and Robert Sandford. The Urban Lab, University of Calgary. The Nickle Arts Museum. Publication design: Francisco Alaniz Uribe. Exhibition design: James Sloane and Ainsley Davidson.

#### Award for Place Research

*Compassion in Architecture: Evidence-Based Design for Health in Louisiana* By Stephen Verderber, published in 2005 by the Center for Louisiana Studies, Lafayette, LA.



## Award for Place Planning Habitat Trails-Rogers, Arkansas

University of Arkansas Community Design Center: Stephen Luoni, Aaron Gabriel, Jeffrey Huber, and Isaac Moran. For: Habitat for Humanity of Benton County, Debby Wieneke, Executive Director. With: University of Arkansas students: David Anderson, Jared Hueter, Remick Moore, Cari Paulus, Lauren Ratley, Rachel Smith, Mat Snyder, John Starnes. UA School of Architecture, UA Department of Landscape Architecture, UA Ecological Engineering Group, Morrison Shipley Engineers, JKJ Architects, Crossland Construction, Adams Excavation.



#### Award for Place Research Places for People, Melbourne 2004

Gehl Architects, Urban Quality Consultants, Copenhagen, Denmark: Jan Gehl, Project Manager; Henriette Mortensen, Project Coordinator. Project Team: Paule Ducourtia, Isabel Sandra Duckett, Lisa Hilden Nielsen, Joan Maria Raun Nielsen. The City of Melbourne: Rob Adams, Director Design & Culture; Ros Rymer, Urban Design Researcher; Jenny Rayment, Senior Urban Designer; Rob Moore, Manager Urban Design; Alastair Campbell, Urban Design Officer.